100 Yrs. of Pulling Beers
Once a humble bar and family home, the Plainland Hotel has come a long way since it opened its doors in 1905.
Porters Plainland Hotel is a familiar landmark on the Warrego Highway just an hour's drive from Brisbane, at the eastern gateway to Queensland's beautiful Lockyer Valley.
Today the Hotel is managed by a third generation of Porters, Michael and his wife Shelley and sister Mel, following his parents Bob and Julie, and grandparents Dick and Rita who first leased it from Castlemaine Perkins in 1946.
The Porters trace their origins to the village of Fintona in Northern Ireland, for which our function room
is named. Dick's family ran the Demesne Tavern (today the Nag's Inn) in Fintona before emigrating to Australia in 1909. Most of them went on to become hoteliers in their adopted country.
After gaining experience in Dalby at his father's Arcadia Hotel, Dick and his wife Rita Mary sought a pub of their own. They chose Plainland for its prime location on the main western highway.
Dick and Rita Porter ran the Plainland Hotel for thirty years, where it was home to their children Bob, Robyn and Annette.